• Submit Story
  • Gallery
  • Members
  • Browse by Category
  • Videos
  • Top Rated Articles
  • News RSS Feeds
  • About Shiv and Shiva
    About Shiv and Shiva admin
    admin on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    reviews [0]
    Shiv [4]

    What is the difference between the soul (purush) and the mind (prakiti) ?

    The soul is the consciousness or the knowing principle in man.
    The mind belongs to the category of matter.
    Siva is the soul and Parvati is the mind.
    The consciousness is the Reality, the unchanging,
    unmoving, all pervading soul.
    Mind being matter is changeable and unreal.

    We perceive objects through the organs of sense perception. The soul enables the organs to perceive the objects. The soul exists in all living beings as consciousness. It is the light of the soul that makes the sense-organs and the mind appear alive and luminous.

    Siva is the unchanging consciousness – Nirguna or without form or shape. This unchanging consciousness-Siva – becomes saguna or with form, when Maya Shakti, which is Siva’s illusive power appears as mind and matter. This phenomenon is known as Ardhanarishwar. (See Page ‘Maya-Shakti-Prakriti, topic 'Ardhanarishwar’)

    Siva’s Maya-Shakti is known by various names such as Uma, Parvati, Kali, Durga etc. This Maya-Shakti or power inheres in Siva just as the burning power inheres in fire, sweetness in sugar, whiteness in milk and meaning in the words.

    Siva stands for the Absolute, the unchanging, static background, of which Kali, the Shakti (power) is the dynamic expression. We call this Shakti or power Mother or Goddess. Goddess Kali combines in herself creative dynamism, destructive terror and redemptive grace.

    God’s power that is enveloped by sant guna from inside and Tamo-guna-pradhana (from outside)  is Lord Siva.

    Siva’s trishul or trident (the three pointed javelin like weapon) represents the three gunas –Sattwa,Rajas and Tamas. The Trishul is the emblem of sovereignity. Lord Siva wields the world through these three gunas, which is the composition of Maya-Shakti or mind and matter. In other words, if one were able to analyse the composition of Maya-Shakti, it will be found to be made of the combination of the three Gunas (Sattwa-Rajas-Tamas).

    Siva is Trilochana, the three- eyed one, in the centre of whose forehead is the third eye, the eye of wisdom (gnana-chakshu). The burning power of the wisdom of the third eye destroys desires for worldly objects. Sensual desire and lust is represented by Kamadev, the god of love (Eros or Cupid). When a person reaches a state of perfect renunciation- he is said to have burnt all his desires. Siva’s third eye burnt to ashes Kamadev- the god of love. The eye of wisdom leads to transcendental vision of the Supreme Reality.

    We recite regularly the following Maha Mrityunjay Mantra from the Sukla Yajurveda Samhita III. 60.

    Om Trayambakam Yajaamahe
    Suganghim Pushtivardhanam

    Urvaarukmiva Bandhanaan
    Mrityor Mokshiya Mamritaat

    [The meaning of the Mantra is as follows:]

    I worship thee, O sweet Lord of transcendental vision (the three -eyed one or Lord Siva). O giver of prosperity to all, may I be free from the bonds of death, even as a melon (or cucumber) is severed from its bondage or attachment to the creeper.

    The word Siva signifies the auspicious. The good Lord Siva roots out sin and terror, and is the bestower of earthly happiness, promoter of good and auspiciousness. Siva is also called Samkara which means doer of good.

    Siva takes one beyond the three bodies (Tripura), gross, subtle and causal that envelope the Jiva or the embodied soul. He is hence the Hara or the remover of all evil and the ideal of renunciation. Therefore we hail ‘Hara hara Mahadeva.’

    In the Rigveda (x,121,4) it is written: Yasya ime himavanto mahitva. That the snow capped Himalayas appear as if they are meditating (dhyayativa), and they are the concrete symbol of the glory of the Supreme. Hence it is no wonder that most of its attributes are transferred to Siva. Kailash (mountain) in the Himalayas is the abode of Lord Siva.

    The snowy Himalayas are white and Siva’s body is also white – Gauranga (gauri = light complexioned). Karpura gaura = camphor hued white. Siva’s body is smeared with bhasma or ashes to indicate renunciation, whitenes and purity.

    Amazing! Lord Siva is present in the Kailas mountain. The most sacred symbol in Hinduism AUM imprinted with snow and ice on the face of the mountain by nature.

    Snow falls each winter and resides on the mountain top in the shape of Om.

    After Arati (devotional adoration of the Lord with waving of lamps) we usually recite the following prayer:

    Karpur gauram karunaa avataaram,
    sansaar saaram Bhujgendra haaram,
    Sadaa vasantam hridayaarvinde,
    Bhavam Bhavaani sahitam namaami

    I bow to that camphor-hued, white complexioned
    (Lord Shiva), who is Incarnation of compassion,
    who is the very essence of (consciousness; the
    knowing principle) of life (of the embodied soul);

    Who wears snakes as garlands, whose eternal abode
    is in the heart of the devotee, I bow to Him (Lord
    Shiva) and His consort Bhavani (Uma or Paarvati).

    Karpur (camphor-hued); Gauram (white);
    Karunaa (compassion); Avataaram (incarnation); Sansaar
    (life of the embodied soul); Saaram (essence,
    the knowing principle or consciousness);

    Bhujagendra (wearer of snakes or who wields the
    Serpent power of Kundalini Shakti); Haaram
    (garlands); Sadaa (eternal); Vasantam (resides);
    Hridayaarvinde (in the heart of the devotee);

    Bhavam (Lord Shiva); Bhavaani (Uma or Paarvati);
    Sahitam (together); Namaami (I bow).

    The rain water is locked up in the Himalayas as snow or ice and river Ganga (Ganges) falling from the heaven is locked up in the Jata (matted locks) of Siva. Hence Siva is called Ganga-dhara. River Ganga issues from the Himalayas, and Ganga flows down to earth from Siva’s matted locks after release. The holy river flows down from Siva’s head and therefore it symbolises the stream of wisdom.

    Snakes are symbolic of the mental powers (the coiled up serpent power of Kundalini Shakti) under the control of the divinity. The moon symbolises mind in a state of tranquility and purity. The Damaru (a small drum-like instrument in Lord Siva’s hand) represents the sabda Brahman. This is AUM and the sound of AUM (OM), from which all languages are formed.


    » Not yet reviewed by any member. You can be the first one to write a review.
    » You must be logged in to post a comment.
    Related Articles
     Vishnu, whose name means "All-Pervading," is the protector of the world and the restorer of moral order (dharma). He is peaceful, merciful, and compassionate. To.... Abhisheka is a part of the worship of Lord Shiva. Without it, the worship is incomplete. It is the ceremonial bathing of the Siva Lingam in Shiva temples. A pot made of copper.... During the churning of the Milky Ocean by the Devas and Asuras, the serpent Vasuki began to emit large amounts of the dreded Kalakuta( poison), which was suffocating both..... Puja Items and what you need to Do Bhakti and Bhauna is very important for your Puja. (Gita says- have a good spirit of Bhakti and Bhauna for the lord and be committed, you.... Goddess Durga, the invincible, is an important figure in Hindu mythology. She embodies feminine energy or Shakti and believed to hold all the powers of the Universe and created....