An online news publishing system that features easy installation, user submission, and an admin panel for adding, editing, and removing categories and news.
  • Submit Story
  • Gallery
  • Members
  • Browse by Category
  • Videos
  • Top Rated Articles
  • News RSS Feeds
  • Supreme Lord Vishnu
    Supreme Lord Vishnu admin
    admin on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    reviews [0]
    Lakshmi Narayan [2]

     In Hinduism, there is a long standing tradition of honoring 3 major gods: Brahma, Shiva, and Vishnu.

    Each of them have their loyal group of followers, or devotees. Many temples and places of worship in India are dedicated to one of these three.

    But Vishnu and Shiva in particular have their own huge number of devotees, and in particular Vishnu is highly revered.

    1. Before there was creation, there was Vishnu asleep and floating in a vast sea of nothingness. Upon waking and stirring, a lotus sprang from his belly and blossomed, giving birth to Brahma. Brahma then set out to create the entire universe.

    2. Vishnu has 10 main incarnations, known as the Dashavatara: Rama, Krishna, Buddha, Vamana, Narasimha, Varaha, Kurma, Matsya, Parashurama, and Kalki.

    3. Vishnu lives in Param Padam, the supreme abode. In this place, liberated souls spend eternity living in supreme bliss.

    4. Vishnu would constantly come down to earth in the form of Lord Narayana in order to deliver messages or to make sure that things are going according to the Divine plan.

    5. Vishnu’s consort, Lakshmi, is known as the goddess of wealth. Her energy manifests as creativity, and as such, Vishnu needs her with him at all times.

    6.  In many representations, Vishnu is depicted with four arms, each representing a certain quality: Duty and virtue, material wealth and success, pleasure, and liberation.

    7. Many Hindus believe that Buddha is an incarnation of Vishnu, and some Buddhist sects agree, but many contest that Buddha was just a special incarnation of a highly evolved soul.

    8. Vishnu has over 1,000 names in India. Talk about a long role call!

    9. The typical blue color of Vishnu is symbolic of his purity and his eternal nature, similar to the seemingly limitless blue ocean.

    10. Vishnu is the preservation aspect of the universe; existence is supposedly actively maintained and manifested through his will.


    » Not yet reviewed by any member. You can be the first one to write a review.
    » You must be logged in to post a comment.
    Related Articles
     Vishnu, whose name means "All-Pervading," is the protector of the world and the restorer of moral order (dharma). He is peaceful, merciful, and compassionate. To.... Puja (alternative spelling pooja; Sanskrit: "reverence" or "worship") is a religious ritual which most Hindus perform every morning after bathing and dressing but prior to.... Astronomy The lunar calendar adds one extra month every third year. This extra month is known by various names: Adhik Maas, Mal Maas, Purushottam Maas, Malimmacha. This is.... Goddess Durga, the invincible, is an important figure in Hindu mythology. She embodies feminine energy or Shakti and believed to hold all the powers of the Universe and created.... Devi Durga in Hinduism is worshiped in different forms and considered a form of Shakti. There are different reincarnations of Durga include Shakti, Kali, Gauri, Uma, Parvati,....